



Minutes Iowa Workforce Development Board Meeting

November 16, 2021
11 am – 1 pm
Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden
909 Robert D. Ray Drive, Des Moines, IA 50309

Agenda item 1. Call to Order

Chair Lynn Schreder called to order the meeting of the Iowa Workforce Development Board (the Board) on November 16, 2021, at approximately 11 am at the Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden, 909 Robert D. Ray Drive, DuPont Rooms, Des Moines, IA.

Agenda item 2. Roll Call

Members in Attendance

- 1. Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg
- 2. Dave Deyoe
- 3. Beth Townsend
- 4. Emily Wharton
- 5. Daniel Tallon
- 6. Lynn Schreder
- 7. Jay Iverson
- 8. Alicia Stafford
- 9. Amy Larsen
- 10. Jack Hasken

Members Absent

- 1. Waylon Brown
- 2. Ann Lebo
- 3. Daren Westercamp
- 4. Curt Strouth
- 5. Mary Landhuis
- 6. Quentin Hart
- 7. Becky Jacobsen

- 11. LuAnn Scholbrock
- 12. Teresa Hovell
- 13. Jessica Dunker
- 14. Brad Elliot
- 15. Ofiela Rumbo
- 16. Alexander Severn
- 17. Deb Mauricio
- 18. Carrie Duncan
- 19. Rich Kurtenbach
- 20. Charlie Wishman
- 21. Andy Roberts
- 22. Jason Shanks
- 23. Jayson Henry

- 24. Nancy McDowell
- 25. William Dotzler
- 26. Kristen Running-Marquardt
- 27. Drew Conrad
- 28. Kristie Fisher
- 29. Kyra Hawley
- 30. Beth Skinner

Shelly Evans called roll and advised Chair Schreder that quorum was established.

Agenda item 3. Approval of Agenda

Chair Schreder called the next order of business which was the approval of the meeting Agenda for November 16, 201. The agenda was emailed to the Members of the Board.

Amy Larsen motioned to approve the Agenda and Andy Roberts seconded the motion. Members of the Board in attendance voted on the motions by voice vote, which carried unanimously.

Agenda item 4. Approval of Minutes

Chair Schreder called the next order of business, which was the approval of the meeting minutes from August 21, 2021. The draft minutes from the August meeting were emailed to the Members of the Board on November 11, 2021.

Chair Schreder opened the floor for public comment on the draft minutes. No public comments were made. Rich Kurtenbach motioned to approve the minutes, and LuAnn Scholbrock seconded the motion. Members of the Board in attendance voted on the motions by voice vote, which carried unanimously.

Agenda item 5. Welcome

Chair Schreder welcomed board members. Introduction was made for the following new members:

- Daniel Tallon, new Director of Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services
- Alicia Stafford, Wellman Dynamics
- Mary Landhuis, Lisle Corporation
- Brad Elliott, Podium Ink
- Ofiela Rumbo, Pro Cooperative
- Alexander Severn, Capitol Data Analytics
- Deb Mauricio, Smithfield
- Jason Shanks, Plumbers and Steamfitters, Local # 33

Agenda item 6. Comments by Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

Lt. Governor Gregg thanked all board members for their work and board participation.

Director Townsend provided her report.

- Workforce assessments began in September and over 62 had been conducted and at least 100 had been scheduled to date. Explained the assessment process and the end game to develop options and a plan to bring back to employers to assistant with their needs.
- Explained the Reemployment Case Management Program that takes affect 1/9/22 and the 18 new staff we have hired to do so.
- Talked about the Child Care Challenge and EIF grants that had been posted and were open at the time.
- Introduced Cassandra Halls and talked about her work around workforce realignment.
- 26 Roundtables completed.
- Hosting listening sessions with the local workforce boards.
- Reminded that ARP requests around workforce are being reviewed by the Governor's office.

Agenda item 8. Presentation of Draft One-Stop Certification Standards by Iowa WIOA Core Partner Working Group

Alex Harris, IDOE; Keri Osterhaus, IDB; Brandy McComber, IVRS; and Michelle McNertney, IWD, presented the Board members with an update on the One-Stop Certification Standards.

Agenda item 9. Discussion of Staff

Chair Schreder discussed the need for staff assistance to the Board and discussion was held on the job descriptions for the Executive Director and Executive Assistant positions. Andy Roberts motioned to approve the job description for Executive Director and Amy Larsen seconded the motion. Members of the Board in attendance voted on the motions by voice vote, which carried unanimously. LuAnn Scholbrock motioned to approve the job description for Executive Assistant and Carrie Duncan seconded the motion. Members of the Board in attendance voted on the motions by voice vote, which carried unanimously.

Agenda item 10. Discussion on Adding Ex-Offender Standing Committee to Bylaws

Vice Chair Jay Iverson presented discussion on the need to add the Ex-Offender Reentry Standing Committee to the Board's Bylaws. Jessica Dunker motioned to approve the addition and Andy Roberts seconded the motion. Members of the Board in attendance voted on the motion by voice vote, which carried unanimously.

Agenda item 11. Update on WIOA Unified State Plan

Division Administrator Michelle McNertney provided an update on the WIOA Unified State Plan modification timeline and process.

Agenda item 12. Presentation on Disability Access Committee.

Brian Dennis, IWD, and Keri Osterhaus, IDB, provided an update on the work being performed related to the increased accessibility at the American Job Centers, as well as the initial information gathering and steps ahead to increase the capacity of providing universal access.

Next Meeting – Date and Time.

Chair Schreder reminded the Members of the Board that the next meeting of the Board is scheduled for January 14, 2022, from 11 am to 1 pm, location pending. If the date or time of the meeting changes, Members of the Board would be notified by email.

Meetings for 2022 are scheduled for January 14, March 3, May 13, August 5, and November 2.

Members of the public may confirm the dates and times of the upcoming Board meetings on the Board's calendar located on the Board's webpage accessible at: https://www.iowawdb.gov/state-workforce-development-board-home-page.

Adjournment.

Chair Schreder adjourned the meeting of the Board at 1:01 pm.